United States Agency for Global Media

The David Burke Awards are named after David W. Burke, founding chairman of the Broadcasting Board of Governors and leader for its first three years. The Burke Awards are presented annually since 2001 to recognize the courage, integrity, and professionalism of journalists with the BBG networks.

Meet the winners

The BBG networks nominates an exemplary journalist, production team, bureau, or language service for work done in the previous calendar year.

View the complete list of 2017 honorees »

Burke bio image

BBG History

David Burke

David W. Burke was named to the first Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG) by President Clinton in 1995 and served as its first chairman. Learn More »

John Lansing Quote

John Lansing image

These journalists have exemplified the definition of bravery and courage by risking their lives to report from some of the most dangerous places in the world.