United States Agency for Global Media

The Former Broadcasting Board of Governors

The Board comprised nine members with expertise in the fields of mass communications, broadcast media, or international affairs. Eight members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The ninth, the Secretary of State, served ex officio. On June 8, 2020 the board of governors disbanded after the first presidentially appointed, Senate-confirmed CEO took position.

Board Meetings

The board met regularly throughout the year to discuss the Agency’s performance, review Agency policies and strategic direction and receive reports from entity leadership. Board meetings are generally open to the public and available for viewing via live-stream and online video. View the archive »

Former Governors

Thirty members individual served as board governors from 1990-2020. Browse the complete (alphabetical) list of former members of the board. View the archive »