United States Agency for Global Media


David Burke Awards

The David Burke Distinguished Journalism Awards recognize the courage, integrity, and professionalism of journalists from each of the USAGM networks. The awards are named after the founding chairman, David Burke. To learn more about our distinguished winners, visit our Burke Awards page.



External Awards
Explore more of our award-winning work below.

Filter by: VOA, OCB, RFE/RL, RFA, MBN, OTF
Remove filter

Network: VOA

Project: The GPS Man Trapped in Afghanistan (2022)

Winner: VOA News Center’s Lynn Davis, Marcus Harton and Carolyn Presutti

Presented by: Chesapeake Associated Press Broadcasters Association

Network: VOA

Project: Kenyan Journalists Flag High Rates of Newsroom Harassment (2022)

Winner: Victoria Amunga and Amos Wangwa

Presented by: Media Council of Kenya

Network: VOA

Project: The Mechanism (2022)

Winner: Cristina Caicedo Smit, Victor Castillo, Guadalupe Rincon, Jessica Jerreat, Amy Reifenrath, and Brian Williamson

Presented by: National Headliner Awards

Network: VOA

Project: Mission’s End: War and Withdrawal in Afghanistan (2022)

Winner: Carla Babb, Ayesha Tanzeem, Kane Farabaugh, and Arif Aslan

Presented by: National Headliner Awards

Network: VOA

Project: Shelter on the Line (2022)

Winner: Senior executive producer Euna Lee, producer Lauren Kawana and video editor JP Dobrin

Presented by: New York Festivals International Television and Film Awards